New Releases: 26th May

INSIDE LLEWYN DAVIS:

tumblr_n0p6arFSXl1qzdglao1_1280

The lovely new film by Joel and Ethan Coen. I watched this at the pictures and it was like a door stopper had been popped under my day so that this sweet, moody and feline little film could creep in. Some critics have called it cold but I don’t see it that way. It’s melancholy, and melancholia can be good warm stuff. Loosely based on the autobiography of Dave Van Ronk – and the beautiful likes of Paul Clayton – the film charts one week in the life of a Greenwich Village folk singer in 1961. My lover loved this film on a transcontinental flight, and my lover don’t please easy. Meowww.

TRAILER

STRANGER BY THE LAKE:

stranger-lake-poster

Also saw this at the pictures. Best thing I’ve seen this year at the pictures, actually (or maybe joint best with Under the Skin). It’s so much harder to write about films you like than the ones you don’t/you despise (see below). Stranger by the Lake won Alain Guiraudie best director at Cannes last year, it also got the Queer Palm. Cop-out because it’s amazing, but I don’t quite have the wherewithal/desire to break it down here: it’s an exceptional film and I look forward to talking with you about it in-store.

TRAILER

AUGUST: OSAGE COUNTY:

august_osage_county

Get out of my face.

TRAILER

I, FRANKENSTEIN:

big_thumb_2ebf4a0162ca3be9bc2e95d4611ca9bd

Lol.

TRAILER

posted by William Goodey

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

