New Releases: 17th March

BLUE IS THE WARMEST COLOUR:

Blue-is-The-Warmest-Color-Poster-HD-WallpaperI’m really struggling with this film. I was really excited about it coming out, really excited by the the stir, adoration and outrage it pulled out of people, and admittedly kind of excited by the notion that this straight man had made this politically bad, very wrong-footed Palm d’Or winning film about two queer women. I tried to not read too much about it – found much of what I did read too right-on, too simplistic, too drooling – went to see it, and sort of loved it. Since then I’ve thought and talked about it quite a lot and now I’m far from positive about the film. I think it’s  largely reprehensible. But, I also think that in certain respects it’s quite powerful and resonant. I sort of like it in spite of myself. Now this is a terribly uninformative, contradictory mess of a blurb for such an easily hyped new release, but you should absolutely watch it (and please come tell me what you think). Then we can talk specifics and I’ll tell you why it sucks and why it doesn’t. The wonderful Eileen Myles realllly hated Blue is the Warmest Colour, and though I do too, I was also really into it.

TRAILER

HUNGER GAMES 2 – CATCHING FIRE:

catching-fire-poster7 YouTube comments about the The Hunger Games: Catching Fire…

This movie is perfect….literally everything about it is perfect. -333

i want to watch it !!!!!!!

ive never even read the book and this is one of my favorite movies

can anyone tell me what happend at the ending of the movie im so confused

Although I do like The Hunger Games but I still prefer The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings

Today i readed book. 🙂

this movie is gona be different

TRAILER

THE COUNSELLOR:

world-exclusive-new-poster-for-the-counsellor-144467-a-1378966818-470-75Cormac McCarthy’s first original screenplay directed by Ridley Scott. I like how quiet the trailer is, until the bad song starts. The Counsellor is Michael Fassbender, a lawyer who finds himself in over his head when he gets involved in drug trafficking. It looks fairly entertaining, but, as Video City’s Andrei mentioned to me, this kind of material works better in the hands of the Coen brothers (who adapted McCarthy’s No Country for Old Men), than in the cloven hooves of R. Scott. It’s received quite mixed reviews, but the rave ones are enticing; Manohla Dargis of The New York Times noting how  “Mr. McCarthy appears to have never read a screenwriting manual in his life […] That’s a compliment”, and Scott Foundas at Variety drawing a comparison to John Boorman’s Point Blank. Hmm.

TRAILER

ESCAPE PLAN:

escape_plan_ver3When Drinkenstein and Turbo Man do porridge, Lord knows you want a sugary spoonful!

TRAILER

ALSO OUT THIS WEEK:

SALAMANDER SEASON 1:

148492.jpg_image_scaler_0x600

TRAILER
CALL THE MIDWIFE SEASON 3:

callthemidwife3-1

OUTNUMBERED SEASON 5:

_61251278_61251277

Posted by William Goodey

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

