Film of the Day: No, I’m Not Going To Write About Maggie Thatcher…

… or mention the film The Iron Lady. Phew. Finally, a Thatcher-free haven. And I’m not talking about Britain, now that she’s gone. In fact, I’m not talking about her at all. MaggieMaggieMaggie. I’m not talking about her because everyone else in the country is and you can’t look at a paper without a thousand words on her legacy, her funeral, the fact that she wore hats (and, apparently, sometimes even gloves) and occasionally smiled (despite cracks clearly appearing around her heart as she did so) being thrust into your face. This is a Maggie-free zone. So…

 

FILM OF THE DAY:

My-Beautiful-Laundrette-1985

“I’m a professional businessman not a professional Pakistani. And there is no question of race in the new enterprise culture.”

A LAUNDERETTE AS BIG AS THE RITZ. OH YES.

my_beautiful_laundrette_1986_725x449_977501

Johnny: “Ain’t nothing I can say to make it up to you. There’s only things I can do to show you… That I am with you.”

my-beautiful-laundrette-1985-011

**THIS IS ENGLAND ’85**

mybeautifullaundrette6900x506

STEPHEN FREARS’ AND HANIF  KUREISHI’S 1985 FILM IS AN IRONIC SALUTE TO THE THATCHER-CHAMPIONED SPIRIT OF PRIVATE CAPITALISTIC ENTERPRISE. IT ALSO THROWS CLASS, RACE AND INTERRACIAL RELATIONSHIPS INTO THE MAGGIE-MELTING POT AND JABS HOLES IN THE IRON-CLAD TORY TENET OF ‘FAMILY VALUES’ BY FEATURING A SUCCESSFUL GAY RELATIONSHIP AS ONE OF THE CENTRAL STORYLINES.

kinopoisk.ru

DID I SAY THIS WAS A MAGGIE-FREE ZONE? MY MISTAKE.

X

posted by Dixie Turner

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

